Freelancing - how much to charge? ... and gender

@JulieK has writen about freelancers and the uncertainty many women face when trying to figure out how much to charge:

Many of the women I spoke to who were new to contracting often expressed uncertainty about how much they should charge. This impacts women’s short and long-term financial security. Australian women gig workers are likely to receive 10% – 37% less per hour than their male counterparts and work fewer hours due to caregiving responsibilities. Throughout my career as a manager, I have encountered situations where I had to renegotiate contractor rates with women because they were too low. In fact, their proposed rates were so low that they would earn less per hour than a regular employee in a similar role.

The article also explores the topic more broadly and comes up with a programme for change.

What do you think?

Go here for more.

2 Likes

Thank you @Antony for sharing. There are two issues, women feeling they can charge what they are worth and society and organizations recognizing the worth of women and paying for that value. With so many people becoming contractors we need to learn more than applying for a job now days. There needs to be easy to read information on how to successful set yourself up as a contractor and support to get across how tax, superannuation, insurance and Workcover works when a person is a contractor.

1 Like

@Antony thanks for sharing, and @JulieK thanks for your insightful piece.

I acknowledge that there is a complex tapestry of considerations and issues that feed into this theme, so I don’t intend to appear as simplifying it back to a spreadsheet calculation. However, I am curious to know whether you are aware of any easily accessible and usable calculator tools to help people form an understanding of the rate that they should ideally be charging in order to achieve their goals and to meet their responsibilities?

I came across this from Professionals Australia: